Week 4 and my recharge

This past week was seriously a blur. Of course I know you are all expecting me to be sick once again…and you were right. I was. I got a crazy allergic reaction to something I don’t even know. Seriously the weirdest thing ever. Last week was not really exciting. It felt like I was going through some routine that I didn’t even know I had. 
Luckily I have a roommate that keeps me going. I mean I can survive on my own, which I was, but finally someone to debate with. Someone to challenge me, my views, and values. One thing India has brought to me is a lot of self-discovery. Being around other interns and their lives is an incredible feeling. It makes you feel more connected to them. I’ve gotten to know some of these girls pretty well. One shared some personal stories that made me reflect on my own life. Getting to know people is a remarkable feeling. 

 I also ran across a girl from New Zealand who is interning for a hospital. We already even planned a mini trip to the coast. I’m finding it thrilling that I’m meeting people I would have never done so if I was back home. I wouldn’t be discovering new things about myself and breaking limits I didn’t know I had. 

I need to share with you a new place I was able to visit this past weekend. It was a random trip to Dubai! I know super crazy. A friend invited me to figure some stuff out and to get help for my allergic reaction. I’m telling you I looked puffy and red in the face and some random rashes on my legs. Well anyways I somehow found myself on a 9am flight Friday.  Dubai is extravagant and luxurious. It’s super clean and shiny. Massive hotels and resorts. Every car I saw seemed too expensive to even look at. It was a bit uncomfortable. How can people in this world be starving to death and homeless when there are so many wealthy people in this world that could change it in a blink of an eye. 

Even with that discomfort I was able to find joy of the place. There is no “true” Dubai traditions or cultures that I was able to see. Dubai is still a young country, with new things being added everyday. It’s growing and now more people are vacationing there. There isn’t only food and shopping. There are now water parks, spas, theme parks, camel riding and surfing in the desert. 

I just did the classic thing of eating, sight seeing, swimming, and an amazing spa treatment. 

Finally, I was away from the noise and chaos. It was just me. My time was mine to think about me for a day and to really ask myself what I was even doing in India. I feel like so much has occurred to me in the one month I’ve been in India that in the past year. I was able to sit and just go back and think what was my original purpose of this internship, how did I lose my vision, and i needed to get myself reorganized. Plus the weather and the pampering cleared my allergic reaction in a day. 

I was able to lay in bed and just ponder the existence of life and think about my own journey. What this weekend was, was a privilege that most people will never have. That’s why it was at first uncomfortable for me, knowing that I was there relaxing, so many are out there searching for food. These thoughts never leave me. They always find there way in my head. 

Even though I’m constantly thinking of this I do take time to be grateful and enjoy the moment. From my room I had the perfect view of the sunset. It made me get emotional.

See I told you that the sunset was spectacular. 

The weekend was a luxury that allowed me to rethink everything in my life. I might not needed to go to Dubai for this recharge but I’m grateful I did. Now my project proposal has been written and approved and I start today. I have a month to make this internship count.  To prove to myself that I am capable of anything. I refuse to get sick again or to have anything pull me back, even myself. We never give ourselves enough credit of our capabilities. I’m now all in, no reservations or judgments. 

Week 4 was more about reflection and sharing pictures and even some videos. Next week you will hear about my project! Below a little more pictures, not of Dubai, but of Kolkata. 

One thought on “Week 4 and my recharge”

  1. SO interesting. Do you see what MBE means when she says repeatedly, Get self out of the way? The world & its people are SO beautiful – this sunset was awe-inspiring! A journey of a lifetime – it will stay with you, as will the lessons you are learning. Sending you love

Leave a Reply

